A Rainy (or Snowy) Day Activity-Painting Paneling

The weather finally seems to be getting warmer, even though it’s a rainy day in my area.  But, sometimes, a rainy day is perfect.  It’s a great day to actually tackle some of those indoor activities you keep putting off.  For me, a recent rainy day was a great day to finally paint the wood paneling in my kitchen.

PicturesA few years ago, I was given prints of a fork, spoon, and knife that I wanted to hang in my kitchen.  My kitchen is pretty dated.  Even though I know at some time in the future I’ll redo it, for now, it will have to do.  The one thing that drives me nuts about it though is an area of paneling in the kitchen.  Years ago, the house originally had a side door, but that was covered up, and paneling was used to hide the space.  And, if there’s one thing I hate, it’s paneling.  While I would have loved to pull it down, that was a little beyond my rainy day project.  So instead, I painted the paneling to better match the rest of the kitchen and the great prints I had.

TapingThe biggest part of any paint job is the prep.  If you prep the area and make sure you’re ready, the painting will be simple, and clean up will be as well.  The first step was taping all of the edges with painters tape.  Then, I had to start sanding.  Because I was painting paneling, and the paneling had a smooth finish, sanding was important.  You want to be sure there is a rough surface for the paint to adhere.  I simply took a sanding square and went over the whole surface to Sandingrough it up.  This also helped even out any imperfections in the wood.  Once the wall was rough, I was ready to paint.

Because it was the kitchen, and it will probably need a lot of wiping over the years, I used a Behr eggshell finish.  And because it was a small area I was painting, and with the grooves in the paneling, I decided to use a hand-held brush.  I could have used a roller for most of the wall, but, since I still would have had to use the brush to get into the grooves, I just used the brush for the whole project.  I painted the wall with smooth, long strokes, going down the grooves first, then Paintingcovering the main surface.  I worked in about a 1 foot square area, then went to the next, always brushing up and down, with the grain.  It didn’t take long to cover the whole surface.  I ended up putting a second coat on just to be sure the paneling didn’t shine through.

One thing to note, I’ve struggled with the painters tape in the past.  If you let the paint dry completely, and then you pull off the tape, if there are any sections that had the paint pretty thick, the tape just pulls the paint right off the wall.  The way I avoid this is I take the Finished Producttape off as soon as I’m finished painting.  This way, the paint isn’t completely dry, and so I just pull off the tape, not some of my hard work!

Once the wall dried, I was able to hang my new prints.  I have to say, I’m very happy with the way the wall turned out.  I love the light mocha color, it makes a huge difference for the kitchen, and the prints really add something to the wall.

So, what do you like to do on a rainy, or snowy day?

Leave a Reply

