A Perfect Dessert for Easter, Martha’s Coconut Crunch Cake

So, can you tell I’m getting ready for Easter?  Last week I wrote about making Easter bread, and this week I’m thinking about dessert for Easter.  For me, Easter screams coconut.  I’m a huge fan of coconut, in any form.  I love coconut eggs, coconut cream pie, coconut shrimp, anything coconut.  A woman who I used to work with made the most amazing coconut cake…I’ll have to write about that sometime!  Anyway, so, when I was flipping through the April edition of the Martha Stewart Living magazine, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I stopped at the Coconut Crunch Cake!

Flour MixtureThis coconut cake is different.  It has a coconut flavored cake-like layer on the bottom, but with a soft and chewy coconut topping.  Covered in chocolate sauce, it is an amazing dessert that reminds me of a reconfigured coconut cream egg.

To start, whisk together 1 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, and 3/4 teaspoon salt in a bowl.  In a liquid measuring cup, mix 1/2 Cream of Coconutcup cream of coconut (as a side note, this stuff is amazing and I can eat it straight out of the can with a spoon) and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.  If you have trouble finding cream of coconut, it may be in the Hispanic section of your grocery store, if you have one.

Next, with a mixer, beat 1 stick softened butter and 1/4 cup coconut oil (in solid form, do not melt) on medium-high speed until smooth.  Add 1 cup sugar anBatterd beat until fluffy, 3-5 minutes.  Add 3 eggs, 1 at a time, beating and scraping the sides after each addition.  Finally, with the mixer on low, add the flour and cream of coconut mixtures alternatively.  Starting with 1/3 of the flour, then add 1/2 of the cream of coconut, then flour, coconut, ending with flour.  Beat until just combined.  The cake batter is now ready.

Seperating EggsMake the topping by beating 2 egg whites with 1/8 teaspoon salt in a mixer until thick and frothy, about 1 minute.  Stir in a 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk and 2 teaspoons vanilla extract.  Fold in 3 cups sweetened shredded coconut.

Butter and flour a 10-inch spring-form pan.  Spread the batter evenly in the pan.  Top with the coconut topping and carefully Ready for the Ovenspread to make it even.  Bake on a sheet pan at 350 degrees for 1 hour, or until a toothpick comes out with just a few moist crumbs.  You may need to cover with foil if it is browning too quickly.

For the chocolate sauce, I doubled the recipe.  What can I say, I love chocolate.  For the original recipe, heat 1/3 cup heavy cream and 1/4 cup sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat until the sugar Chocolate Sauce Pre-Shotdissolves, and the mixture is close to boiling.  Pour the cream mixture over 4 oz chopped bittersweet chocolate and 2 tablespoons butter.  Make sure the mixture is in a heat-proof bowl.  Stir until smooth then add 2 teaspoons vanilla extract.  This is a delicious chocolate sauce, so don’t worry if you have leftovers.  To serve, slice the cake and pour the chocolate sauce on top!

If you’re thinking of something sweet and different for Easter, and you love coconut as much as I do, this is a great pick!  Give it a try this year, and way to go Martha…it’s a great recipe!Chocolate Sauce

23 thoughts on “A Perfect Dessert for Easter, Martha’s Coconut Crunch Cake

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #10 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Hilda

    Thanks for bringing this one to this FF#10. I have already made note of your Easter bread, and this cake is another candidate for our Easter celebrations this year. I agree about coconut and Easter, although I hadn’t realized it till you mentioned it.

    Reply
  3. Arl's World

    I love coconut! My Mom always made a traditional Coconut Cake for Easter. This looks really good, something new to try this year for Easter. Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Reply
  4. chefjulianna

    Wow, Nick! This looks and sounds stunning! I am with you on the coconut thing! I could eat it at every meal and any dessert that has coconut ranks super high in my books 😀 This is not only perfect for Easter, but for the FF gang. You know they have a wicked sweet tooth and this is going to disappear almost instantly 🙂

    Reply
  5. apsara

    Hello, nice to meet you through Fiesta Friday! This is a lovely cake and I appreciate your patience in making a beautiful presentation. Looking forward to more such posts…

    Reply
  6. saucygander

    That sounds gorgeous! We just had a chocolate and coconut dessert, so I have had coconut on my mind! The texture and the topping looks delish too! 🙂

    Reply
  7. strictlydelicious

    This looks excellent! I love the varying textures in this cake. So unique, and perfect for spring! Thanks for bringing this. I’m so glad I discovered your blog; the title and description intrigue me so! Can’t wait to go explore 🙂

    Reply
  8. Pingback: On a Cold Night…a Comforting Dessert-Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding | The Optimistic Househusband

Leave a Reply

