A Great Mother’s Day Dessert…Lemon Bars!

Ingredients ReadyFor most Mother’s Days, I cook dinner for the family.  The number of siblings varies from year to year as commitments may be with in-laws, but at least my mom is always there…actually, my mom and my sister, who is also a mom, of 3 boys.  And, the good son and brother that I am, I try to incorporate some of their favorite foods into dinner.  The menu always varies drastically, but one pretty common ingredient, at least with dessert, is lemon.  My mom loves lemon desserts, so I’ve made lemon meringue pies, lemon curd tarts, even lemon ricotta cookies (FYI, Giada has an amazing recipe for these…you have to try them!), but one of my favorites, and the easiest, is lemon bars.

Lemons JuicedOver the years, I’ve tried a number of different lemon bar recipes, and was about to give up.  There have been ones that are too runny, and others that have been too sweet or too tart.  Then I found this one.  This recipe is absolutely perfect.  It’s easy to make, and the lemon bars come out perfectly sweet and tart, with a buttery crust, and custardy filling.  I found this recipe on allrecipes.com, where it is appropriately named “The Best Lemon Bars.”

CrustTo start, beat 1 cup softened butter with 1/2 cup sugar until light and creamy.  Add 2 cups flour.  Mix until combined.  Pour into a greased 9×13 inch pan and press it down into an even layer.  Bake the crust for 15-20 minutes in a 350 degree oven, or until firm and golden.Crust Ready for Oven

Filling IngredientsWhile the crust bakes, whisk together 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/4 cup flour.  Add 4 eggs and the juice of 2 lemons.  Whisk until well combined.  When the crust is finished baking, as soon as it comes out of the oven, pour the egg mixture over the crust.Pouring

Powdered SugarBake for an additional 20 minutes in the same oven.  They may look too soft, but they will firm up when they cool.  Once cooled, sprinkle the top with powdered sugar, and cut into bars.

One tip about the powdered sugar, I sprinkle the powdered sugar on the top, cut them, then sprinkle again.  I find that it makes my messy cuts look perfect…and a little extra powdered sugar never hurt anyone!

These really are a great dessert for Mother’s Day.  And speaking of Mother’s Day, hopefully you’re all taking care of the mothers in your life on Sunday.  For all of you moms, I hope you have a wonderful and relaxing day.  Happy Mother’s Day!  Tray of Lemon Bars

 

14 thoughts on “A Great Mother’s Day Dessert…Lemon Bars!

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #15 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Jhuls

    How sweet of you to do this for Mother’s Day. Your mom must be so very proud of you and your siblings as well. 🙂 Please send my greetings to your mom, to your sisters and sister-in-laws.

    Thanks for sharing these yummy lemon bars to us this Fiesta Friday. Enjoy FF15. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Nancy

    Well, thanks to your trials and errors in search of the perfect lemon bar I don’t have to…thanks! These sounds simple enough to make, yet look fantastic. Thanks for bringing your delicious recipe to FF…I can’t wait to bake up my own!

    Reply
  4. Selma's Table

    Hi Nick! Whoa – these look amazing – I can practically taste them! Love the tip about the icing sugar and thanks for doing all the research to find this amazing recipe! These will go down a storm with the revellers – thank you for bringing them to the party! I hope you get a chance to check out the other revellers and make some new ‘friends’! Enjoy!

    Reply
  5. catherinecuisine

    What a great dessert! And you are right, i have tried many lemon bars recipes that were too tart or not creamy enough… I will try these ! (I like Martha Stewart’s bars)

    Reply
  6. chefjulianna

    Lemon bars are my all time favourite sweet! Thanks so much for bringing them to the party! I have loaded up my plate with them and I hopefully no one will know that it was me that consumed them all! 😎

    Reply
  7. Ngan R.

    I love lemon bars, actually lemon anything (thanks for that link to the lemon ricotta cookies), but especially lemon bars. These look great and I’m sure your family will be delighted with them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

