Tomato, Basil, Garlic, Olive Oil…Ah Bruschetta

I am not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I love tomatoes.  I love them in all forms, cooked, raw, doesn’t matter.  And one of my favorite ways to eat tomatoes is in bruschetta.

Bruschetta is incredibly simple to make, and absolutely delicious.  And, because it’s all about fresh ingredients, it’s a perfect summer recipe.

Diced TomatoesTo start, find nice, ripe tomatoes.  I prefer the Roma or plum tomatoes for bruschetta because they aren’t as juicy.  Their texture holds up well.  However, really any tomato will do.  And if you have them fresh from the garden, well, they are always the best!  For this recipe I use 5 tomatoes.  And, you may remember a while ago me going on and on about ceramic knives for cutting tomatoes, but I really do taste a difference.  So if you have a ceramic knife, now is the time to use it.  Remove the seeds and dice the tomatoes and add them to a bowl.

Minced GarlicAdd to the tomatoes 3 garlic cloves, minced.  In traditional bruschetta, the garlic would be rubbed on the toasted bread, but I find this works well and is easier.  You want the mince to be pretty small to avoid people getting a huge piece of garlic.  Also, I should warn you, I love garlic, so you may find 3 cloves is a bit much for you, or you may want more.  Feel free to adjust.

To the tomatoes and garlic, add 3 tablespoons olive oil, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper.  I also add 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar.  I think purists would probably just stick with the olive oil and not include the vinegar, but I think it adds a great flavor to the bruschetta.

BasilFinally, add 6 basil leaves.  I chiffonade them.  Sounds impressive, right?  Well, it just means you roll the leaves up and cut them into strips. Now give the bruschetta a stir and you’re done.

I prefer bruschetta at room temperature.  Also, as it sits, the tomatoes release their juices, adding to the delicious liquid.  Serve the bruschetta with toasted sliced Italian bread.  Just grill the bread, or toast it on a cookie sheet in the oven.  The crispy bread Bruschettadoes a great job of soaking up the delicious juice.

Bruschetta makes a great appetizer, but it’s also a good side.  And it works well at barbeques or picnics.  I might whip up a batch for Memorial Day!  Happy Memorial Day weekend everyone!

24 thoughts on “Tomato, Basil, Garlic, Olive Oil…Ah Bruschetta

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #17 | The Novice Gardener

  2. sabine

    Love tomatoes , too! This recipe is a classic , not only for the upcoming summer nights I picture! Thanks for reminding me that bruschetta should definitely be on the menu!

    Reply
  3. Selma's Table

    Bruschetta is the taste of summer!! I do have a ceramic knife which I do love but had no idea that they should be used on tomatoes due to the metallic interaction with a normal one….learn something new everyday!

    Reply
  4. FireBonnet

    Absolutely delicious! So refreshing… and so easy! Happy Fiesta Friday. (I’m sorry that in my post I didn’t include any fashionable hats for men… I didn’t mean to be sexist 😉 )

    Reply
  5. Kaila511

    I definitely didn’t know about ceramic knives, but now I want to taste test the difference between metal and ceramic cut tomatoes! And, I have a new item for my kitchen wish list. Thanks for bringing the bruschetta to the fiesta as well! So refreshing for the summertime! I have celiac disease, so I like to place mine on thinly sliced chicken. (I know it’s weird, but it works well for me). Have a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Jhuls

    I also love tomatoes in all forms! I just had fresh tomatoes with my scrambled egg this morning. 😀

    This meal is completely so easy to make and so refreshing. Great when you are on the run, yes?

    I don’t think I’ve heard about ceramic knife. When I find one, I’ll make sure to take it with me. 😀 Thank you for sharing this today and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

