Using Up the Harvest…Sauteed Zucchini and Summer Squash

Zucchini and Summer SquashIt seems like you wait forever to get the first harvest from the garden, but then when you do, it just keeps coming and coming.  That’s what seems to be happening right now with my zucchini and summer squash, but I’m not complaining…YET! I’ve been harvesting these two for a few weeks, and they have been delicious.  And while I’m sure later in the summer, when I’m sick of them, I’ll be pulling out my trusty zucchini bread recipe, right now I’m enjoying them one of my favorite ways…a simple saute with onions in butter and olive oil.

ChoppedWhen harvesting zucchini and squash, I like to catch them before they get too big.  Now, that’s not to say that I haven’t had gigantic ones in the past…and I know some of my coworkers can attest to that as I always brought in the extras to them.  But, when I’m on top of things, I like to harvest when they are no more than 10 inches.  I find that they aren’t as watery, and their flavor is more intense.  However, if you weren’t paying attention, or, as I’ve done almost every year, there is one that hides under some leaves and you find it when it’s two feet long, just cut it in half and scoop out the seeds before chopping.  When they are that big, you want to avoid the seeds.

OnionsFor this recipe, I used 2 zucchini and 1 summer squash, all about 10 inches long.  Simply cut off the stems, and chop them.  I like to quarter then and slice them into about 1/4-1/2 inch slices.  You’ll also want to chop 1 small red onion and mince (or use the garlic press) 3 cloves of garlic.

Heat 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat.  Once the butter is melted and the oil is hot, add the onion.  Cook for a few minutes until they start to get some Finishedcolor, then add the garlic.  I don’t like to add the garlic too early, because it can burn easily.  And when garlic burns, it has a horrible taste.  After just about 1 minute, add the sliced zucchini and squash.  Stir everything around, and let them cook down.  You’ll want to stir periodically, but it will take about 10 minutes for them to soften and get a little bit of color.  Add some salt (I used about 1/2 teaspoon salt) and pepper (about 1/2 teaspoon pepper as well), and stir to combine.

This is a great side dish in the summer when the vegetables are fresh, and It really is a simple recipe.  However, it really brings out the flavor of the vegetables.  Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Using Up the Harvest…Sauteed Zucchini and Summer Squash

  1. Lisa

    My plants are just starting to blossom and mini squash are growing. It’s true.. you wait and wait…then you have tons of squash! Love your recipe and pix!

    Reply
  2. Hilda

    Fresh garden veggie side dishes like this are so useful in summer cooking. I can’t imagine having too many zucchinis. Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday.

    Reply
  3. linnetlane

    Lovely recipe! My squash plants are just starting to really produce now, I’ve not grown squash before so I’m hoping I don’t get sick of them but I don’t really know how many to expect! Hopefully you’ll post the zucchini bread recipe for when I decide I have too many to reasonably eat 🙂

    Reply
  4. Selma's Table

    Love zucchini and can never have too many recipes for them. Last year we had lovely neighbours who would leave a few on my doorstep from their garden. This year, we are in a new place and nobody seems to grow anything! One of my first recipes on the blog was for a courgette bake and I also have one for easy, quick pickled courgettes if you need it. Thank you for sharing this with us and Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Harvesting Basil for Pesto! | The Optimistic Househusband

  6. Pingback: An Overabundance of Zucchini…So…Zucchini Bread! | The Optimistic Househusband

Leave a Reply

