Strawberries Everywhere…and Strawberry Shortcake!

Strawberry PlantWhen I was in 6th grade, my younger brother gave me a strawberry plant. At our school, the 6th graders had “partners” in 2nd grade, and he was my partner. We helped them with school work and projects, and did some fun things with them during school. At some point, they grew strawberry plants for us as a gift (for the life of me I can’t remember why). And, at that young age, I had already loved gardening, so I was very excited to take it home and plant it in the garden. Sure enough, it did great that summer, and then the next spring, there were strawberries and plants everywhere. While the strawberries were great, over the years, my mom had enough of the plants taking over the entire garden, so, unfortunately, they all came out. But, I learned a few very important lessons: 1) strawberries are really easy to grow and delicious, and 2) the plants will take over any space you give them!

BiteMany years later, as I was cleaning up the gardens at my house, and pulling out tons of pachysandra that had been planted just about everywhere, I had a revelation. There are 3 very small beds next to my house that are completely enclosed in concrete. The beds boarder the house on one side and the sidewalk on the other. So, the light bulb went off, and I decided to plant strawberries there. They could grow and spread, and not intrude on anything else, and they have done great in this spot. For many years, they were enjoyed by my nephews who would pick away and eat them, covering themselves in the red juice. Now that they are a little older, they have some self-control, and I get to enjoy the strawberries, and when I’m lucky, there are enough to make strawberry shortcake!

For me, there is only one way to make strawberry shortcake…and that’s with a biscuit or scone. Don’t get me wrong, when you use pound cake or some other cake, it’s delicious. But it’s just not Butterthe same for me. I love the crumbly texture of the biscuit that soaks up the juice, combined with the creamy whipped cream and juicy berries. The recipe I have I adapted from one I found online, which, for the life of me now, I can’t find the link, but it’s a simple scone recipe with macerated berries and whipped cream.

Whisk together 2 cups flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons baking powder, and 1/4 teaspoon salt in a large bowl. Cut in 1/3 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces. If you have a food processor, you can use that. Otherwise, just try to work in the butter using a fork. I often times need to get my hands into it to break up the pieces of butter. If you do this, just be careful, you don’t want the butter to melt. You need to work it fast if you use your hands. Then whisk 1 egg, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1/2 cup heavy cream until combined. Pour that into the flour mixture and stir to combine.

Ready for OvenTurn the dough onto a floured surface and knead a few times. Form into a 7 inch round, then cut about 2-3 inch pieces. As you can see from my picture, mine are not perfect at all. 🙂 Place them on a greased cookie sheet and brush with a little cream, half and half, or milk, and sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. You want them a little golden and a toothpick to come out clean.

As those are cooking, you can get the strawberries ready. It will take about 2 lbs. strawberries, although this time, I mixed strawberries and blueberries. Whatever you prefer is fine, even Fruitpeaches are great this time of year. Take about half the fruit and smash it with a potato masher. Then add the rest, along with 1/4 cup sugar. Let that sit for a while so the juices run.

The last component is the whipped cream. I used 1 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream and about 3 tablespoons sugar, but, whenever I make whipped cream, I always taste it. Some people like it sweeter, some people like it less. I am on the sweeter side! Start whipping the cream, and, once it starts to thicken, add the sugar and continue whipping until stiff.

Whipped CreamOnce the scones are cooled you’re ready to assemble. Of course in our hurry to eat them this time, I never took a picture of the completed shortcake, but just cut the cooled scones in half, spoon some fruit on the bottom half, with the juice of course, top with some whipped cream, and add the top!

And I know what you’re thinking, it’s a little late for strawberry season if you grow them at home, but there are tons of strawberries in the grocery stores right now, not to mention blueberries, peaches, etc. Just get some fruit, and have at it!Ready to Eat

16 thoughts on “Strawberries Everywhere…and Strawberry Shortcake!

  1. Jhuls

    For those who are able to take advantage of the strawberries, we should do it – make everything we could think of. 😀 The strawberry shortcake sounds great to take to FF. 🙂

    Reply
  2. The Novice Gardener

    I started with 3 strawberry plants 2 years ago. Guess how many I have now? I’m not exaggerating when I say hundreds. I can’t seem to have the heart to get rid of them. I’ve given some away but still they keep making babies! The birds love the berries, though. 🙂

    You’re not still getting strawberries, are you? Mine are long gone, weeks ago!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Cream Pie | Fiesta Friday #26 | The Novice Gardener

  4. toozesty

    uh oh… I just bought 10 strawberry crowns at the garden center because they were $0.75. If they all make it I may be in trouble lol. Oh well there are worse things than an abundance of strawberries! Beautiful recipe!

    Reply
  5. milkandbun

    Your post reminds me strawberry, some other berries and time with my parents at their garden… You are lucky to eat just picked strawberries! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs

    Happy Happy Fiesta Friday! I just loved this post…. thank you so much for bringing an all time comfort food favorite to our table this week! I love the story of how your little brother grew a strawberry plant for you in school… probably in thanks for all of the “partnering” help each of you gave to them… love that.
    I think it’s brilliant how you made strawberry beds out of existing concrete boxes…. and I love LOVE LOVE this recipe for strawberry shortcake! I’m with you… strawberry shortcake MUST be made with biscuits or scones. There is no other way.
    Thanks so much for sharing this. Awesome post. Awesome photos. Awesome recipe! ❤

    Reply
  7. Michelle

    I wish I had any sort of green fingers so I could plant fruits and vegetables, but as it is I can’t even keeps herbs alive! They look amazing in the shortcake though 🙂

    Reply
  8. Pingback: On a Cold Night…a Comforting Dessert-Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding | The Optimistic Househusband

Leave a Reply

