An Overabundance of Zucchini…So…Zucchini Bread!

Zucchini and SquashA few weeks ago, I was talking about using up the harvest and making zucchini and squash recipes.  At the time, I was holding off on the zucchini bread, just not quite ready for it yet.  For some reason, I always feel like zucchini bread needs to be made when you are sick and tired of zucchini.  And…well…it’s happening!  I’m making zucchini bread!

I don’t know what happened in the garden.  I thought I was staying on top of things, but we had rain this weekend, and there were some The Giant Plantsgiants in the garden.  The zucchini and squash plants are HUGE, and I just keep picking, and cooking, and giving it away!  I’ve made all kinds of recipes, and they have been delicious.  Zucchini lasagna, ratatouille, sautéed, fried, you name it, but it’s time for the bread.  And this zucchini bread recipe is my favorite, mainly because it calls for 4 cups of grated zucchini, so you definitely can use up the harvest! 🙂 And, all of that zucchini makes it very moist!

Mixing It All TogetherYou’ll need two loaf pans for this recipe.  Grease and flour those, and preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Whisk together 3 cups whole wheat flour, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 tablespoon cinnamon.  In another bowl, beat 3 eggs, 1 cup vegetable oil, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, and 1 tablespoon vanilla extract.  Add the dry ingredients and mix that all together.  Then, stir in 4 cups grated zucchini, 1 cup chopped nuts (I prefer walnuts), and 1 cup raisins.

CookedPour that mix evenly in the 2 loaf pans, and bake for about 60 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Definitely let these cool in the pan before removing, as they are dense, but they are delicious!

Oh, and if you aren’t trying to stay on top of the harvest, you can use less zucchini, but it really is great with all of it!

19 thoughts on “An Overabundance of Zucchini…So…Zucchini Bread!

  1. annainternational

    So so sad we forgot to plant courgettes (zucchini) in our garden! I love them, and this bread looks great. Another thing I love to do with them is spiralise or julienne them and have them raw in salads- sounds wrong but they go so perfectly! You should try it!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Breakfast Biscuit | Fiesta Friday #27 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Margot @ Gather and Graze

    Nick this is the exact recipe I needed last autumn when our zucchinis got a little out of hand – I’ll bookmark this for the next time I have a glut of beautiful squash. 🙂 Your loaves of zucchini bread look deliciously moist and I imagine would be lovely toasted as well. Thanks so much for bringing this along to the Fiesta – have a great time mixing with the crowd! Cheers, Margot

    Reply
  4. saucygander

    Haha, it must be zucchini season, and the zucchini edition of Fiesta Friday! I love the sound of your recipe, Nick, especially the overload of zucchini. The bread sounds like it would keep moist for a few days, yum!
    And you are now officially entered into this FF’s impromptu zucchini recipe-off, winner to be announced next week. Stay tuned! 😉

    Reply
  5. Jhuls

    I haven’t tried zucchini bread at all – maybe I am afraid that I could taste the veggie? Could I? This looks amazing, btw. And nothing tastes good than fresh veggies from your own garden. ❤ I hope you are enjoying the week.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Getting Your Vegetables with Carrot Cake Cookies | The Optimistic Househusband

Leave a Reply

