This Weather has Me Thinking about Fall…and Pie (or at least Crab Quiche)!

CrustOk, ok, I know, that headline sounds kind of crazy, but we’ve been having an absolutely amazing summer in the Philadelphia area.  The temperature hasn’t been too warm, and, more importantly, the humidity has been low.  I have absolutely loved it, but now, as kids are starting to go back to school, and the unofficial end of summer is just days away, my mind is already on fall.  Of course, it could be because fall is my number one favorite time of the year.  I love the cold chill in the air, the cozy sweaters, the festive holidays, the leaves changing and crunching under your feet, and, of course, the food.  Actually, I just always love the food, but I digress.

Dishing Up MarylandFor me, nothing says fall like pie.  Call me crazy, and I may be alone here, but for some reason during the fall I think about the holidays and Thanksgiving, and, well, Thanksgiving’s all about the pies.  Anyway, since it is August for a few more days, and I can’t really be jumping into pumpkin pie just yet, I thought instead I’d talk about one of my go-to breakfast items, especially in the summer, crab quiche.

For anything crab, as many of my friends from Baltimore repeatedly tell me, you have to turn to Maryland.  And so, for crab quiche, I turn to Dishing Up Maryland, a great cookbook that talks about the different areas in Maryland and the different specialties.  I’ve modified the crab and Gruyere quiche recipe just a bit, but it’s definitely a winner.

Crab and OnionsFirst, the pie crust.  There are instructions in the recipe for making a pie crust, but I always use my tried and true recipe from my great Aunt Angie. She made the best pies! Maybe one of these days I’ll share that with you. 🙂 But feel free to use any pie crust recipe you like, or just pick up one from the refrigerator section of your grocery store.  I won’t tell.  You’ll need to line a greased 9 inch pie plate with the pie dough.  But the important part for this recipe is the filling.

This is where I mainly differ from the recipe.  The recipe calls for 1/3 cup onion, raw.  For me, I think the raw onions, even after being cooked in the quiche, are too overpowering.  Instead, saute 1/2 cup sweet onion, chopped, with 1 garlic clove, peeled and chopped, until the onions are soft and have some color.  I usually do this the night before, then just keep them in the refrigerator.  Sprinkle the onions and garlic over the dough with 1 lb lump crabmeat, and 4 oz. shredded Gruyere cheese.  You can Swisssubstitute Swiss if you can’t find Gruyere, and usually get the block and just shred it in the food processor.  Then, whisk 4 eggs with 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg.  Carefully pour this mixture over the quiche.  I put the pie plate on a cookie sheet and put it right next to the oven before I pour, just to minimize my transfer time and the chances of me making a huge mess.

Bake the quiche at 400 degrees for 40-45 minutes, until golden.  Definitely let it cool a bit before you cut into it, maybe 10-15 minutes, so that it doesn’t run.

No matter what you’re making this Labor Day weekend, or if you’re not making a thing, I hope you have some time to yourself to enjoy the end to the summer!  Happy Labor Day!

27 thoughts on “This Weather has Me Thinking about Fall…and Pie (or at least Crab Quiche)!

  1. Kaila511

    My mind is already on fall mode too! We were just talking about all the apple dishes we are going to cook up at dinner last night. Thanks so much for sharing! And, it sounds like Philadelphia has had a much nicer summer than when I was there last year. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Sue

    An absolute masterpiece! My husband is always asking, can I make dinner? He’s “optimistic.” But not super patient in the kitchen. So next time he asks I will say, how about this simple crab pie? I totally agree on the onion issue by the way. And you are so lucky to be close to Maryland . . . my parents spend over $200 to get crabmeat flown in from Maryland when it’s in season and my mom, who’s from Pennsylvania, makes the most awesome Faidley-style crab cakes! Bravo and keep up the good work!

    Reply
  3. strictlydelicious

    I’m from MD myself, and even though I’m allergic, I’ve always heard that no crab is equal to that you can get from Maryland! And you definitely went the right way by caramelizing those onions. This looks wonderful!

    Reply
      1. The Novice Gardener

        That was me before I had kids. Now that my kids are saying that same line to me, I have to show an example. Try first or actually try twice before saying you don’t like. Turns out I like more than I thought, haha…

  4. Hilda

    Superb quiche. This would make a fantastic holiday recipe. But now I am curious about your aunt’s dough recipe. Hope you post it for us one day. Happy Labour Day!

    Reply
  5. The Novice Gardener

    You can’t do that, Nick! You can’t just tell us about your great Aunt Angie’s pie (btw, Angie is a nice name, hehe…) and not share her recipe. Thank goodness you shared this crab quiche, which sounds spectacular, otherwise we would have never forgiven you! :-). Been going to Maryland myself, for crabs. Just so good!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Perfect Pie Crust for Thanksgiving! | The Optimistic Househusband

Leave a Reply

