One of My Favorite Fall Comfort Foods-Butternut Squash Lasagna!

peeledMany years ago, back in 2005, Martha Stewart published a recipe for Acorn Squash Lasagna in her Everyday Food magazine.  As soon as I saw the recipe, I knew I had to try it.  I love anything fall, and anything pasta, so it was a must.  And, true to form, it was delicious.  However, in my never-ending quest to perfect recipes, when I’ve made it in recent years, I’ve made some tweaks that I think make it even better.

First and foremost, I swap out acorn squash for butternut squash.  There is just something perfectly fall about butternut squash, and this recipe is perfect with it.  I also use a Dave's Gourmetjarred sauce and mix it with the roasted butternut squash.  I know, I know, jarred!  But, if you’ve ever tried Dave’s Gourmet Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce, you’ll understand.  If you haven’t, you need to drop everything and try it right now.  It is absolutely fantastic.  I get it at my local Wegmans, and I’ve even seen it at Marshalls, but I’m not sure who else carries it.  It has the delicious butternut squash with bell peppers, and it’s creamy and delicious.  It’s perfect for this lasagna!

To start, take 1 small to medium size butternut squash and chop it into about 1 inch cubes.  If you haven’t cooked with butternut squash, it’s very easy.  Just peel it, then cut it in half.  choppedClean out the rounded end of any seeds and soft insides, similar to a pumpkin.  Then, just slice and chop what’s left. Sprinkle the squash with some olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roast on a cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, until soft.  Once soft, mash and combine with Dave’s Gourmet Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce, or any butternut squash sauce you like, to make 8 cups total.  I used 2 jars of the sauce, but it really depends on how much butternut squash you cook.

In another bowl, combine 32 oz ricotta cheese with 1 cup Parmigiano cheese, 1 teaspoons salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.  Stir to combine then set aside.

cheeseTo make the lasagna, I used an 11×15 inch Pyrex pan, but a 13×9 would work too.  You’ll also need a 16 oz pack of no-bake lasagna noodles.  Spray the pan, and put a layer of pasta on the bottom.  It should be 4 across.  Then add half the butternut squash mixture and another layer of noodles.  Next add half of the cheese mixture and another layer of noodles.  Continue with squash, then noodles, and finish with the cheese.  Sprinkle 1 cup Parmigiano cheese over the top.

ready for the ovenCover the lasagna with foil and bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake for another 20 minutes, until it’s nice and golden on top.

If you haven’t had something like it, give this lasagna a try.  It’s delicious.  You can also half the recipe and make it in an 8×8 pan, but why wouldn’t you want leftovers???

7 thoughts on “One of My Favorite Fall Comfort Foods-Butternut Squash Lasagna!

  1. Selma's Table

    This sounds fabulous though I would have to make my own sauce as there is no chance of finding Dave’s sauce here! I find peeling and chopping butternut squash really difficult. It is so hard and my hands are so little!! If I am going to mash it, I just chop it in half, remove the seeds, dribble it with a little oil and seasoning and roast – no peeling, chopping, struggling or swearing on my part!! Love this recipe and will give it a go when I have my lovely veggie friend round for dinner.

    Reply
  2. caylalily

    Best way to peel Butternut Squash is to cut off both ends, pierce the skin several times with a fork, place in the microwave for 3 to 3.5″, turning midway. Let cool and use a peeler.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

