On a Cold Night…a Comforting Dessert-Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding

On these chilly nights, you need to stay warm. Sure, you can crank up the heat, or add put on another layer of sweaters, or even be buried by a stack of blankets. However, there are more appealing options out there. You could sip a glass of wine (or two), cuddle with a warm certain someone, or maybe even cradle a warm dessert in your hands. You know the kind of dessert I’m thinking about…something sweet and gooey and delicious to warm your body, and your soul. I know, it may be rationalization, but I think it’s the perfect way to get through winter!

custardOne of my favorite rich, warm desserts is bread pudding. I know, I know, some people would disagree and say it’s plain or unappealing. I ran into the same issue last Christmas Eve when I had my family over for dinner. My brother and sister both anxiously asked what was for dessert. When I told them it was chocolate chip bread pudding…well…let’s just say the excitement was gone! However, one bite, and they were hooked.

breadBack in June, I wrote about a banana’s foster bread pudding I made for Father’s Day breakfast, that was delicious by the way. This is a similar recipe, just some minor tweaks to bring out the chocolate chip flavor.

For this recipe, I once again used my favorite bread for bread pudding, challah bread, but you can use whatever you have on hand. Just make sure it’s something substantial so it doesn’t all fall apart in the custard. You’ll need about 1/2 a 15 oz loaf of challah bread, so about 7 or 8 oz.  Cut the bread into 1 inch cubes, and set them aside.

absorbingNext, make the custard.  Whisk 3 eggs with 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup brown sugar until well combined. Add a pinch of salt and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.  Stir in the bread cubes, and let this mixture sit for about a half hour so the bread can absorb the custard.  After that time, stir in 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Pour the mixture into a greased 8″x8″ baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for about 35-40 minutes, until nicely browned and set.

with chipsNow, of course I can’t just leave it there. I have to add more deliciousness! To top off this wonderful bread pudding, I make a warm chocolate sauce and fresh whipped cream. The chocolate sauce is easy, and my go to recipe. You can find it on my post about Martha Stewart’s coconut crunch cake. And you can find my whipped cream recipe on my post about making strawberry shortcake.

I should also probably apologize, I know many of you are trying to watch what you eat in January, and I’m probably not helping. If you’re looking for something healthy, keep looking. But if you’re looking for something scrumptious, you’ve come to the right place!done

16 thoughts on “On a Cold Night…a Comforting Dessert-Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding

  1. cookingwithauntjuju.com

    What a great first post of FF #51! I actually had my first bread pudding down in New Orleans and I have been collecting recipes ever since – just love it. Your version looks delicious! Thanks for a great recipe 🙂

    Reply
  2. Jhuls

    I once had bread pudding, but I made it by force because of a reason I cannot even remember. 😀 I feel like having the need to try making one again and this sounds a perfect recipe. Happy FF.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #51 | The Novice Gardener

  4. Pingback: Stuffed Calamari for Dinner! | The Optimistic Househusband

Leave a Reply

