A Simple Appetizer…Savory Dates

datesThe best appetizer for me is an easy one. Don’t get me wrong, I love to cook and play around with complicated recipes. However, when I’m having people over, which is usually when I am whipping up an appetizer, I want something simple but impressive so I can be sure the rest of the meal is as equally impressive.

For an appetizer, I want something with different textures and flavors. Maybe sweet and savory, or creamy and crunchy, and this recipe definitely accomplishes just that. The sweet, soft dates are the perfect accompaniment to the creamy, savory blue cheese. To round out the textures, salty, crunchy pistachios are added on top. It’s simple, delicious, and perfect for any occasion!

pistachioFor the dates, you want whole and pitted dates for ease of eating. I just grabbed the generic brand from Wegmans. However, for the cheese, this needs some extra attention. I wanted a blue cheese that had a lot of flavor, but was also creamy so it could be spread on the dates. The perfect choice is Gorgonzola dulce. It’s a creamy blue cheese from Italy, and I prefer the sweeter version, dulce. However, you could substitute if you don’t like blue with maybe a goat cheese or even soft brie.

finished productThe final ingredient you need is pistachios. I used whole, lightly salted Wonderful pistachios. And, my frugal nature, I bought the ones in the shell. Just be sure to remove the shells before assembly.

To assemble, spread some Gorgonzola on each date. Try to keep a flat side so they will stay upright, but that doesn’t always work out. Then just press 2 or 3 pistachios into the cheese. That’s it, easy and delicious. It almost seems like cheating to share that easy of a recipe! 🙂assortment

12 thoughts on “A Simple Appetizer…Savory Dates

  1. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 1) | The Novice Gardener

  2. Hilda

    I had blue cheese stuffed dates over the holidays. They are not only easy to make, but oh so easy to eat, and satisfy the sweet and savoury cravings. I never thought of adding nuts, much less pistachios, but that would definitely make them even more tantalizing. I’ve never tried Gorgonzola dulce before either, but will keep an eye open for it – maybe at some of the better cheese markets. Always ready to try a new blue cheese.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

