A Whole New Start to the Garden!

How is it possible that it’s been almost a month since my last post? Last year I was on top of everything. I had already done my garden clean up, started seeds indoors, and even honored St. Patrick’s Day by making Irish potatoes. But this year, this year, I’ve done none of them, and I’ve let an entire month slip by. What can I say…I’ve been busy!

At the end of February, we bought a house. It’s in Kennett Square (the mushroom capital of the world by the way), about 25 minutes from our last place, and practically across the street from my work. Pretty nice, I know! But since then, there’s been cleaning, painting, packing, moving, unpacking, oh, and waiting WEEKS to get internet set up. Finally, after all of that time, and after 8 inches of snow the day before we had movers coming, we’ve settled in, and it’s time to return to normal.

With the move, I have an incredibly interesting situation on my hands with the garden. The house was built-in the mid-70s, and has very established trees. In fact, the back yard is incredibly shady. On top of the shade, the property also backs up to the woods and a creek. As a result, I’m thinking I might have to change my vegetable gardening practices, as I’m sure the critters will be an issue. Luckily there’s a large deck for pots.

The property has also been neglected for a number of years, so the trees, bushes, and plants are all completely overgrown. Over the next several months, I’ll be assessing what’s growing, what’s not, what might need to be cleared, and what additions and changes I can make. It will definitely be a different approach to my gardening the last several years, but I’m incredibly excited.Already, I’m starting to see some new growth and movement, and I can’t wait for more.TreesThe backyard is filled with trees. I can’t wait to see what they look like come spring.PachysandraPachysandra is everywhere. This is one of the few sunny spots. It seems prime for some perennials.VinesVines are also everywhere. They’ll have to come out too!RododendronThis amazing rhododendron is growing next to the deck.daffodilsThankfully some daffodils are poking through the ground.Flowering TreesTrees are showing some life!

I’m excited to see what comes up, what doesn’t, and what changes we can make. This year, I’m even more anxious for spring! Of course, tomorrow we’re supposed to be getting more snow, but at least that will give me some time to unpack more boxes! šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Whole New Start to the Garden!

  1. Nancy

    I’m sure Spring can’t make it’s arrival quick enough for you. The blooming of those daffodils will surely alert you. What fun it will be discovering all your new yard has to offer. That rhododendron looks gorgeous and healthy. Hope the new snow melts quickly…in the meantime…tackle those boxes with gusto! Thanks for sharing your new surroundings at this weeks Fiesta Friday. šŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Liz @ spades, spatulas, and spoons

    Congratulations on your new home. It sounds like it is going to be wonderful. What an adventure to start a new garden from scratch.

    I love the first green shoots of spring. We don’t get any snow in Northern California but the first signs of spring get so much attention. Then comes summer and I am barely able to keep up, much less notice every new shoot.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Getting Ready for the Garden! | The Optimistic Househusband

Leave a Reply

