Delicious Steak with Blackberry Sauce

Things have finally settled down at the house, and that has meant I’ve been able to do some cooking again. While I love the new kitchen, the granite counters, large island, beautiful views of the woods, I am not thrilled about the electric stove. Yes, I said it, I now have an electric stove. 😦 I’ve always had gas, and, I’ll admit, I miss it. There is so much to be said for being able to really control the heat. However, I am adjusting and trying to get by. Thankfully, gas or electric didn’t matter this past weekend for some steaks with a blackberry sauce.kitchenThis recipe comes from The Deen Brothers. I remember years ago watching the recipe on Paula Deen‘s show on the Food Network, and we headed to the grocery store right away to make it. Thankfully, it didn’t disappoint then, and it doesn’t disappoint today!

To start, you’ll need 4 steaks, about 6 oz each. The recipe calls for filet mignon, which is great if you have it, but any steak that you would cook on the stove will do. We used New York strip for this one. Salt and pepper the steaks. Heat a few tablespoons of olive oil in a saute pan over medium-high heat. Sear the steaks for about 4 minutes on each side for medium. My saute pan is not that big, so I had to do this in a few batches, which is fine. Just add more oil if you need it. Transfer the steaks to a plate and keep warm while you prepare the sauce.steaksseared steaksUsing the same pan, saute 1/4 cup chopped shallots for a few minutes until translucent. Add 1/2 cup dry red wine and deglaze the pan. Let the wine reduce by half for a few minutes, then add 1 cup beef broth and 3 tablespoons seedless blackberry jam. Allow the sauce to boil for a few minutes while the preserves melt and the sauce reduces by half. Add 2 tablespoons butter, and season with salt and pepper. Top the steaks with fresh blackberries, and pour the sauce over both. shallotscooked shallotswinejambutterblackberriessteak and blackberriesThe slightly sweet sauce with the rich wine and beef flavor works great with the steaks. It has become one of our go-to meals, especially when you want something a little nicer. It’s perfect with a simple risotto or some mashed potatoes. You want something that will soak up that sauce! 🙂

Also, if you haven’t checked out Fiesta Friday yet, you definitely want to. Angie has created a great forum for people to share amazing recipes and ideas on a weekly basis. Check it out, I promise you, something will peak your interest (http://fiestafriday.net/2015/03/27/fiesta-friday-61/)!

5 thoughts on “Delicious Steak with Blackberry Sauce

  1. Sinfully Tempting

    I would have never thought of using a blackberry sauce on a steak…this sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing it at FF! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Selma's Table

    Kitchen is looking great – shame about the electric stove top, though I am sure you will get used to it! Now, what an unusual combination – it’s the sort of thing that we would normally do with game like venison for instance! I love the idea of it and can’t wait to give it a try! As a Fiesta Friday co-host, please may I ask you to edit your post to include the link and a mention to Angie’s Fiesta Friday #61 post – it ensures that you can be considered for a feature next week. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us at Fiesta Friday!

    Reply
  3. lapetitecasserole

    When I moved from Italy to Canada I was shocked to be obliged to use an electric stove (is very uncommon in Italy). After 3 years I’m finally used to use it, but I regret my gas stove in Florence! Btw, with that amazing kitchen, I’m sure you will cook amazing stuff, as this steak!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

