Cajun Chicken Stew for Lunch this Week

Most weekends, I try to get ready for the week’s meals. Sometimes that means getting ingredients to try something new…sometimes it means making sure I just have lettuce for salads…and sometimes it means making sure I have enough cash for the cafe at work. 🙂 But usually I make something that I can easily bring with me all week. This week, I picked a good one…Cajun chicken stew.

The stew itself was very easy to make. It’s a rich, spicy sauce with big chunks of chicken, onions, and peppers. The roux for the sauce is cooked for a while, getting a rich brown color and deep flavor. Served over rice, this recipe from Gourmet Magazine was perfect reheated this week.

To start, cut up 4 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast. You want to cut the chicken into bite size chunks. Heat 3 tablespoons olive oil in a heavy bottom pot or dutch oven over medium high heat. Sprinkle the chicken with 2 teaspoons salt, then cook in 4 batches until browned all over, about 5 minutes per batch. Transfer to a large bowl.chickencubesolive oilcookingcookedbowl of chickenIn the same pot, you’ll make the roux, which is really just fat and flour cooked together that’s used for a thickener and flavor. You’ll need 1/4 cup olive oil. You could use the fat that’s left in the pot, and add extra to reach 1/4 cup. When I made this, though, there were some small pieces of chicken that burnt to the bottom, so I ended up cleaning the pot and starting with new oil. Heat the oil over medium low heat. Add 1/2 cup flour to the fat. Stir to combine, then cook for 10 to 20 minutes until the color of milk chocolate. The recipe I had said not to stir, only to scrape back and forth, but I’ll admit it, I stirred, and it still came out great.flour and oillight rouxdarkermilk chocolateOnce the roux is the color of milk chocolate, add 1 chopped onion, 1 chopped green bell pepper, and 1 chopped celery rib. Cook until soft, about 8 minutes, stirring often. Add 3 cups water to the mixture, stir to combine, and bring to a boil. The roux will start out not looking very smooth or combined, but as it heats and comes to a boil, it will come together.veggiescookingboilingAdd chicken and any juices from the bowl, reduce the heat, and simmer partially covered for about 30 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through. Finally, stir in 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper or more if you can handle it. I can’t!adding chickencoveredTo serve, just scoop the chicken, vegetables, and delicious sauce over rice. And, as I said, it reheats in the microwave beautifully, making it just perfect as my lunch this week! 🙂donerice

8 thoughts on “Cajun Chicken Stew for Lunch this Week

  1. Loretta

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday, what a delicious looking cajun stew. I like the steps you’ve showed for the roux – it is definitely important to get that right color isn’t it? I’m sure you enjoyed your lunch each day. I usually cook extra for every meal the night before, so that my husband can enjoy a hot cooked leftover meal at work, it definitely makes more sense. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ginger

    I have a rather strained relationship with roux … must take another look at your pictures …
    Thanks for sharing it with us, I love a dish that reheats well 😉

    Reply
  3. FrugalHausfrau

    I love the sound of this stew! I love anything with roux in it much better than versions of cajun recipes with just tomatoes (although I wouldn’t turn any Cajun food down! 🙂 ) I double my roux sometimes and freeze half for a shortcut next time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

